FSU Clobbers Clemson

It has been a strange feeling since I moved to Tallahassee for my Ph.D. program.  At the two previous institutions I attended, there was no football team; now, all of the sudden, I am attending a university whose identity appears to be encapsulated by its football team.  While I have always been more of a fan of the NFL than college football, I’m finding myself more drawn to college football now that I am at FSU–it seems as if it is almost part of the culture.  Catching the fever, “so to speak,” I decided to take in the FSU vs. Clemson game on 10/19.  Let’s just say I was rather impressed with this year’s squad.  Not only does my university now have a football team, we have a National Championship caliber team!

From the outset of this game, it was clear that FSU was superior to Clemson.  On Clemson’s first offensive play, Lamarcus Joyner forced a fumble, giving Florida State excellent field position.  It didn’t take long for me to see why Jameis Winston is the REAL DEAL:

As an NFL fan, I have no doubt that–if he stays healthy–Winston will be a top 10 pick in the NFL draft in 2 or 3 years.  Although his receivers gained many of their yards after the catch, it was Winston’s precision that enabled them to run so effortlessly through the Clemson defense.  He didn’t just complete these passes; he threw them exactly where they needed to be in order for them to make a move once they caught the ball.  Furthermore, his pocket presence was unquestionably brilliant for a player his age.  He moved effortlessly, stayed in the pocket and delivered the throw even when he knew he would be hit, and–most importantly–always kept his eyes down-field.  Most young quarterbacks with Winston’s kind of athleticism look to run as soon as the pocket  breaks down; Winston only runs when it is his best option.

The defense is phenomenal as well.  Lamarcus Joyner played an astounding game with two forced fumbles and an INT.  He is another Seminole player I anticipate will have an impact in the NFL in the near future.  Overall, you

Tajh Boyd's night in a nutshell!

Tajh Boyd’s night in a nutshell!

could see that FSU’s transition to a 3-4 has proven to be beneficial.  This defense attacks, as Tajh Boyd can certainly attest to.

As an FSU student and football fan, after #5 FSU crushed #3 Clemson, I am starting to get excited about the potential of this team and the excitement that will mount if we can make a National Championship run.  Let’s just hope those morons who do the BCS rankings don’t fuck this up!

Leave a comment